Masters - Prize List

Prize Money: Masters 2015

1st £10,000 =1st Pentala Harikrishna 7 £6,000
2nd £5,000 =1st Laurent Fressinet 7 £6,000
3rd £3,000 =1st Gabriel Sargissian 7 £6,000
4th £2,000 =4th Nigel Short 6.5 £1,750
5th £1,500 =4th David WL Howell 6.5 £1,750
6th £1,000 =6th Arkadij Naiditsch 6 £100
  (=6th Francesco Rambaldi 6)  
  =6th Michael Adams 6 £100
  =6th Sergei Movsesian 6 £100
  =6th Erwin L'Ami 6 £100
  =6th Julio Granda Zuniga 6 £100
  =6th Mishra Swayams 6 £100
  =6th Sabino Brunello 6 £100
  =6th Jorden van Foreest 6 £100
  =6th Tiger Hillarp Persson 6 £100
  =6th Alexander Donchenko 6 £100

Total £22,500

Ladies' Awards

1st £3,000 1st Jovanka Houska 5.5 £3,000
2nd £2,000 2nd Elisabeth Paehtz 5.0 £2,000
3rd £1,250 =3rd Harika Dronavalli 4.5 £500
4th £750 =3rd Anna Zozulia 4.5 £500
  =3rd Dagne Ciuksyte 4.5 £500
  =3rd Yuliya Shvayger 4.5 £500

Total £7,000

Best relative rating achievement

2500 – 2599:£500 Francesco Rambaldi £500
2400 – 2499:£500 Mishra Swayams £250
  Martin Zumsande £250
2300 – 2399:£500 Alan Merry £500
2200 – 2299:£500 Yochanan Afek £500
2000 – 2199:£500 David Ottosen £500

Total £2,500

Grand Total £32,000

Prizes (including the first prize) shall be shared where players have the same score.
No player can win more than one complete prize.
A player forfeits the right to a rating prize if they are absent for the last round.
Tie-break (for deciding who receives the award of a trophy):
In the event of a tie for first place, the winner will be decided by tie-break, in the following order of priority:

  • The results between the players involved in the tie
  • Sum of progressive score
  • Sum of opponents' scores (Buchholz)
  • Sonneborn-Berger
  • Number of won games

British Championship Qualifier:
The highest placed eligible player not already qualified shall qualify for the right to play in the 2016 British Championship, subject to ECF regulations.

"I play and prepare on"
GM Hikaru Nakamura
Book your tournament trip today

Latest News

2017 Prizegiving
Published: 03 Oct 2017

John Saunders reports: The prizegiving for the 2017 Isle of Man tournament was held in the Villa Marina on Sunday 1 October at 9pm. Guest of honour was the tournament sponsor Isai Scheinberg who made the presentation of the Masters trophy and cheque for £50,000 to the winner of the open section, Magnus Carlsen.

Read more ...
Round 9 Report
Published: 02 Oct 2017

John Saunders reports: world champion Magnus Carlsen of Norway won the 2017 Isle of Man Masters tournament after holding Hikaru Nakamura of the USA in the ninth and last round at the Villa Marina, Douglas, on 1 October 2017. Magnus Carlsen scored 7½ out of 9 to take the £50,000 first prize, ahead of Hikaru Nakamura and former world champion Viswanathan Anand (India) on 7 points. Tied in fourth place on 6½ were nine players: Pavel Eljanov (Ukraine), Dhopade Swapnil (India), Richard Rapport (Hungary), Vidit Santosh Gujrathi (India), Vladimir Kramnik (Russia), Fabiano Caruana (USA), Mickey Adams (England), Alexei Shirov (Latvia), Emil Sutovsky (Israel).

Read more ...
Masters - Final Ranking List
Published: 01 Oct 2017

The final ranking list of the Masters was as follows:

Read more ...

Sponsored By The Scheinberg Family
With assistance from
Department of Economic Development Manx Technology Group
Organised by the Isle of Man International Chess Committee