Round 9 - Final Report

As predicted, the players saved their best for last and treated us to a final round filled with high quality fighting chess.

rnd9 1

The top 3 boards

The first title contender to draw blood was Sargissian, who saw off the young GM-elect Rambaldi in convincing fashion, thus ending the Italian's excellent run. While the board 4 encounter between Movsesian and Adams was a rather uneventful draw, Fressinet took advantage of Naiditsch's overambitious play on board 2 to inflict a costly defeat on him with the black pieces. Howell's demolition of Kuzubov on board 5 was catching everyone's attention in the playing hall as the players faced off in a crazy time scramble. This game is well-worth replaying and this win also propelled England's number 2 into joint 4th place.

The board 1 clash between Nigel Short and Pentala Harikrishna was the last of the top encounters to finish, keeping everyone in suspense as to the outcome of not just the game but the tournament as a whole. The game first seemed to be heading to a rather balanced draw, but after a few inaccuracies Harikrishna suddenly found himself under a lot of pressure in the endgame. However, the Indian played defended tenaciously and eventually saved the much-coveted draw. With this result, Harikrishna joined Fressinet and Sargissian on 7/9 (since the prizes were shared, all three players won £6000), but he soon turned out to have the best tiebreak and was thus declared the winner of the 2015 PokerStars Isle of Man International Chess Tournament! Short meanwhile had to content himself with shared 4th place - alongside David Howell - which was still good enough for £1750 each.

rnd9 2

The last round in full swing

You can find both the details of all prize winners and the complete final standings on the official website. You will also find the final video report of the tournament (including interviews with Harikrishna, Fressinet, Houska and many others) on our YouTube Channel.

On a different note, a total of 7 norms were achieved during the tournament. Van Foreest, Swayams and Zumsande scored GM norms, while Merry, Basso and Koop earned IM norms, and Shvayger got a WGM norm.

Just like last year, the closing ceremony was a relaxed and informal affair, which was thoroughly enjoyed by all participants. After all the prizes had been awarded, Tournament Director Alan Ormsby earned himself another round of applause by announcing there would definitely be a 3rd edition of the tournament in 2016!

rnd9 3

Alan Ormsby getting a well-deserved round of applause

Below is just a selection of impressions from the prize giving, but you can find all the pictures from round 9 as well as of the closing ceremony on our online photo gallery.

rnd9 4

Winner of the Minor: Zahed Miah (Isle of Man)

rnd9 5

Winner of the Major: Valentin Gaudeau (France)

rnd9 6

Winner of the Ladies’ prize: Jovanka Houska (England)

rnd9 7

10 players in joint 6th place (Rambaldi is missing because he won a rating prize)

rnd9 8

In joint 4th place: Howell and Short (both from England)

rnd9 9

In joint first place: Sargissian (Armenia), Fressinet (France) and Harikrishna (India)

rnd9 10

Tournament winner Pentala Harikrishna

Many congratulations to all the winners and see you all next year! regular smile

Fiona Steil-Antoni

Watch and train with the best players online at
Event lighting, sound
& special effects services

Latest News

FIDE Grand Swiss: Round 11 Report and Prizegiving
Published: 21 Oct 2019

Round 11 Report

John Saunders reports: the FIDE Grand Swiss ended in a tie for first place between Wang Hao (China) and Fabiano Caruana (USA) on 8 points out of 11. Wang Hao, who defeated David Howell in the final round whilst other leading games were drawn, was placed first on tie-break and he qualifies for a place in the 2020 Candidates’ tournament in Ekaterinburg. Six players tied for third place on 7½: in tie-break order, Kirill Alekseenko (Russia), Levon Aronian (Armenia), David Antón Guijarro (Spain), Magnus Carlsen (Norway), Hikaru Nakamura (USA) and Nikita Vitiugov (Russia). The top women’s prize was shared by Harika Dronavalli (India) and Dinara Saduakassova (Kazakhstan) who both scored 5½ points, with the Indian player receiving the trophy on tie-break. A fuller report will follow.

Read more ...
FIDE Grand Swiss: Round 10 Report
Published: 21 Oct 2019

Round 10 Report

John Saunders reports: the penultimate round of the FIDE Grand Swiss had everything. The eight boards with players still having an interest in qualifying for the Candidates’ tournament featured seven decisive results, with the only draw being a well-contested game between Hikaru Nakamura and Levon Aronian. A sole leader emerged in the form of world number two Fabiano Caruana, who defeated David Antón Guijarro to reach 7½ points, while the world champion Magnus Carlsen beat Maxim Matlakov via an overwhelming position which became a much more problematic one before he found a way to win and equal Ding Liren’s record of 100 top-level classical games without a loss. Carlsen thus progressed to 7 points along with Nakamura and Aronian, and they were joined by Wang Hao, Kirill Alekseenko, David Howell and Nikita Vitugov who won their games to reach the same score. Thus there are eight players left to contest first prize and/or the Candidates’ qualifying place in the eleventh and last round.

Read more ...

Sponsored By

With assistance from
Department of Economic Development Event Lighting Services - lighting, soun and audio visual effects
Organised by IOM International Chess Limited